Watercolor Holiday Scene

Last Tuesday night Terri Sproul gave viewers a lesson in using watercolor pencils.  During her live show, she created a beautiful art journal page using glass bead gel, watercolor pencils, and stamps.  First Terri showed us how to use glass bead gel to create some “snow.” Next she showed us how to create a background using different colors of watercolor pencils.  She built a pine tree on her page using a stamp.  Finally she adhered a stamped image she had colored using the watercolor pencils.  Terri issued a three-part art journal challenge: 1) create some snow; 2) use watercolors for a background, and; 3) color a stamped image.  Here’s how I tackled the challenge.

Create Some Snow – I don’t have any glass bead gel, so I decided to try gluing pieces of torn fabric softener sheets.

Use Watercolors For A Background – I also don’t have watercolor pencils, but I do have a Crayola watercolor set.  That’s what I used.

Color A Stamped Image – I do have some holiday stamps, but nothing that I could really color, cut, and add.  I used the digital stamp Christmas Robin.   It was available as a “Try Before You Buy” freebie from Just Some Lines.  I colored the image using my watercolors.

Just like Terri, I built an evergreen tree by building up a single stamp.  I decided to decorate my tree using Liquid Pearls and Beadazzles.  I made some snowflakes in the air with Ice Stickles.  And here is the end product.

Image

The Tuesday night shows with Terri Sproul  are so much fun.  Hope to see you there!

I am entering this project into the Just Some Lines December Challenge.

7 thoughts on “Watercolor Holiday Scene

What do you think?

